The UnGlam Fam

I now blog at www.constantcircus.wordpress.com!

Checkerboard cookies!

4 Comments

I recently bought the cutest cookie cutters at Williams Sonoma, beach themed, and have been dying to use them. What better occasion than our nephew’s upcoming birthday? So today I started prep by making two batches of cookie dough, one white one chocolate. While they were sitting chilling in the fridge, I remembered how much my own kids love the checkerboard cookies that I buy at Whole Foods sometimes. Only I don’t buy them very often since they are about $8.99/lb. Pretty steep for some sugar dough, don’t you think? Well, I do, but I buy them anyway for an after-school surprise treat.

Anyway, while the building blocks were sitting there I figured why not try a possible blunder? I had nothing to lose except for the time that I’d already lost.

A couple of YouTube videos later, this is what I had:

The white dough is a vanilla-lemon flavor, and the chocolate is just pure decadence. They baked without spreading. The cookies are a trifle under-sweet since their original avatar was supposed to be frosted, but they are a perfect teatime snack. They used quite a bit of butter, as butter cookies are wont to, so I wouldn’t make a habit of it, but for an occasional splurge, they’re fantastic.

And so pretty to boot! Lesson of the day: Whims sometimes do pay off.

Author: constantcircus

I'm a mother of two young boys. I love to write, cook and travel...in that order :) Here's the real us: a workaholic, introvert-in-an-extravert-job husband; a harried, extravert-but-stay-home wife; a 7-going-on-13-moody Boy1; and a still-sweet-but-act-older-than-4 Boy2. Maybe I should have called ours the hyphenated family. Hmm. We're leading a busy albeit decidedly unglam life, currently in the suburbs of Washington D.C. My youngest is finally in half-day preschool which gives me precious minutes to take a bathroom break, alone!, whenever I need to, as long as it's in the morning. After almost 7 years of constant washroom company, I'll take it! There are of course bigger family issues to resolve than the aforementioned as the kids get older, hence this blog. Hopefully, writing here will provide me an opportunity to document, vent, laugh off and look back on these fleeting moments that seem insurmountable right now but will inevitably fade from active memory over time. Also? I hope, for my sake, to review every book that I read from now on on these pages, in case I ever have the need to make intelligent conversation in public. No more, "hey, I know I've read this one but what was the story, again?" Yeah!

4 thoughts on “Checkerboard cookies!

  1. These look great πŸ™‚

  2. Wow! They look professional… you don’t say how much difficulty it was to make them so even and beautiful.

    • You are too kind to not bring up the disaster 3rd row down πŸ™‚ Actually, they weren’t all that hard to make at all. Just need a bit of time to chill every layer before layering.

Leave a Reply

